Partner Universities

The West Nordic Studies programme is a joint multidisciplinary Masters’ degree offered in collaboration between five of the universities in the West Nordic Region.
University of the Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands has a long and distinguished history as a North Atlantic hub for advanced studies. Beginning over 800 years ago with the priest college in Kirkjubøur that educated King Sverri of Norway, it later went on to host the Latin school (1543-1800) that educated several generations of eminent Faroese scholars.

Today, the nation’s primary centre of higher learning is the University of the Faroe Islands (Fróðskaparsetur Føroya). The University was established in 1965 and now has 545 full time students studying in a variety of research-based Bachelor programmes in the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, Education, and Nursing. Master’s programmes are offered in Law, and Faroese language. Individual PhD research programmes are also offered.

The University is publicly funded and has 73 academics working full time with research and teaching – ensuring all students get exceptional one-on-one access to the teaching staff.

The University is located in the Faroese capital, Tórshavn, a beautiful, ancient, friendly, harbour city with a rich variety of recreational and sports facilities, many charming restaurants and cafes, a bustling cultural life and a lively musical scene.

More here
University of Iceland

The University of Iceland is a progressive educational and scientific university, renowned in the global scientific community for its research. It is a state university, situated in the heart of Reykjavík, the capital of Iceland.

A modern, diversified and rapidly developing university, the University of Iceland offers opportunities for study and research in almost 400 programmes spanning most fields of science and scholarship: Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Humanities, Education, Natural Sciences and Engineering.

Some of the resources available at the University are uniquely Icelandic. These include the manuscripts preserved in the Árni Magnússon Institute, Icelandic census records dating from 1703, exceptionally complete genealogical data and climatological, glaciological, seismic and geothermal records.

The University of Iceland also holds a leading role in sustainable energy and environmental research.

The University of Iceland has set itself the long-term goal of being ranked among the 100 best universities in the world and to employ internationally recognized quality standards in all appraisement of its work. We want a degree from the University of Iceland to carry a definitive mark of quality that can be relied upon throughout the world. This goal will be the strength of the University’s students in the future.

More here
University of Greenland

Ilisimatusarfik/University of Greenland was established in 1987 with four departments, including the Department of Administration. In relation to the 2008 university reform (amalgamation, external board of directors etc.), this department changed name to the Department of Social Sciences and became part of the Institute of Ilimmarfik.

Ilisimatusarfik/University of Greenland has three institutes: Institute of Ilimmarfik, Institute of Learning and the Institute for Nursing and Health Science. The Institute of Ilimmarfik is consisting of four classical university degree programmes with own departments and three profession-based bachelor degree programmes with their own departments as well. The departments are as follows:
Department of Social Sciences, Department of Language, Literature and Media, Department of Cultural and Social History, Department of Theology, Department of Journalism, Department of Social Work and the Department of Translation and Interpretation.

Ilisimatusarfik/University of Greenland participates in collaboration in research and teaching together with several partner organisations in Denmark and the other Nordic countries, but as well, with universities elsewhere in Europe and North America (Canada and the USA).

The Department of Social Sciences offers a three-year bachelor’s degree programme, a two-year master’s degree programme, a BA degree programme with a major (3 1/2 years) and a BA degree programme with a minor (1 1/2 years). The two latter programmes are intended for the upper secondary teacher programme (gymnasielæraruddannelse). The budget for the department of Social Sciences covers the equivalent of five full-time employees with teaching and research obligations, and at the moment the Department has roughly 60 students enrolled. In total the university has about 700 students and 120 staff members.

More here
University of Akureyri

The University of Akureyri (Háskólinn á Akureyri) is located in North Iceland and has served Akureyri and its rural surroundings since 1987. The university has built a reputation for academic excellence and good industrial relations. It is an international research university which offers many programmes both in undergraduate and postgraduate studies. It consists of three schools: Humanities and Social Science, Business and Science, and Health Science. There are around 2000 students and 200 staff members. The small class sizes create a close and collegiate atmosphere and a highly personalised learning environment. The University has pioneered distance education and flexible learning in Iceland, facilitating access to education for people living in rural communities.

The West Nordic Masters programme at the University of Akureyri is integrated within the Master Degrees in Polar law (LL.M. and M.A.) within the Faculty of Law of the School of Humanities and Social Science.
The University of Akureyri is based at Sólborg, next to major institutes of Arctic research and cooperation, including the Arctic Council Working Groups, Protection of the Marine Environment and Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna, the International Arctic Science Committee, the Stefansson Arctic Institute, the Iceland-Arctic Cooperation Network, and Arctic Portal. A number of our Polar law graduates have gone on to work for these institutions.

More here
Nord University

On January 1 2016, University of Nordland, Nord-Trøndelag University College and Nesna University College merged and became Nord University.

Nord University offers study programmes at bachelor, master and doctoral levels. We have study locations in Central and Northern Norway, with state of the art teaching and research facilities, located in a spectacular northern setting. We also facilitate a range of flexible and online study programmes via active use of learning technology.

Northern Roots
Nord University focuses on developing regional networks with communities, business and industry, which is strengthened by a decentralised model. Cooperation between the university, the community and working life stimulates development, through the education of professionals and leaders and through research that contributes to economic growth.


  • 12,000 students
  • 1,200 employees
  • 9 study locations in Vesterålen, Bodø, Mo i Rana, Sandnessjøen, Nesna, Namsos, Steinkjer, Levanger and Stjørdal.
  • Almost 40% of Norway’s coastline
  • Country’s largest agricultural region
  • Third largest teacher education institution
  • Fourth largest nursing community
  • 4 doctoral programmes
  • Internationally-oriented teaching and research communities.
More here